Student Leaders Honored with Keeper of the Dream Awards

Rochester resident Rachel Jackson has been selected as one of nine recipients of Oakland University’s Keeper of the Dream Award for 2021 in recognition of her efforts to break down stereotypes and promote racial and cultural understanding.

Rachel Jackson looks down with folded arms.

Established in 1993, Keeper of the Dream provides annual scholarships of up to $5,000 for students who have demonstrated strong citizenship, scholarship and leadership.

Since the program’s inception, more than 100 students from a variety of academic majors have been awarded scholarships.

Oakland University (OU) 29th annual Keeper of the Dream Awards recipients are:

• Rachel Jackson (Integrative Studies-Higher Education Administration)
• Adriana Colin-Diaz (History within the Secondary Teacher Education Program)
• Alaya Freeman (Pre-Business Administration)
• Ja’Laaiyah Gordon (Marketing)
• Niajah Hood (Linguistics)
• Maryam Nissan (Human Resource Development)
• LaCaya Smith (Elementary Education)
• Teyler Thompkins (Communication)
• Mariama Toure (Industrial and Systems Engineering)

nine women head shots in a gallery view
2021 Keeper of the Dream Award Recipients
About Rochester Media

Rochester Media publishes The Community Edge digital newsletter of recently posted articles from Rochester Media, a hyper-local news outlet covering all things in and around Rochester, Rochester Hills, and Oakland Township. Send us you press releases and news happenings to

Speak Your Mind